Department of Physics

About the Department

The Department of Physics was established in 2012 with the mission of imparting quality education in the field of Physics at UG level. The department offers credit based courses in Applied & Engineering Physics to the freshmen engineering (B.Tech.) students. Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Physics was started from the year 2020 to pursue Ph.D. degree. The department is equipped with different laboratories such as, Optics Lab, Applied Physics Lab, Nanomaterials and Crystal Growth Lab, Material Research Lab etc. The department is strengthened with 18 faculty members. At present 8 research Scholars are pursuing their Ph.D. degree. The R&D activities have gained momentum with funding from various agencies like DST, SERB, UGC-DAE-CSR etc.


Develop the scientific insight and technical competence on Physical Sciences to excel in the field of teaching and research.


1. To educate and train students on fundamentals of Physics for applications of Science and Engineering
2. To perform world class research in frontier fields of Applied Physics.

Highlights of the Department

  • INSPIRE Science Camp has been organized from 18 to 23 March 2019 and this program is funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DST), India. Several eminent academicians and research scientists from various reputed institutions delivered lectures to the undergraduate students. This program is focused on creating the awareness and interest in science and technology in UG students and nearly 200 students participated in the program.
  • The department received research grants and conference grants from various funding agencies like UGC, UGC-DAE, DST and state council. The total funding including research and conference in total received so far is around 15.55 Lakhs. Apart from external funding, the SEED money funding had also been sanctioned by Anurag University to promote the active research activities within the department. The total amount of SEED money projects received is 8.8 Lakhs.
  • The department encourages quality research. The faculty members have published 76 research publications so far in several international, national journals and the three patents were granted by international patents authorities for their innovation in research.
  • The department organized a national conference and international conference in the month of December 2022. The aim of these conferences is to promote scientific collaboration with other academic/research institutions.
  • National Conference on Science and Engineering of Advanced Materials (NCSEAM-2022) was organized during 19-20 Dec 2022. Telangana state council of higher education (TSCHE) sanctioned Rs 80,000 for organizing this event. The number of participants attended for this event is around 100. The number of abstracts accepted was thirty eight and the list of invited talks was eighteen.
  • The International Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Material Science and Engineering (INCAIMSE-2022) was organized in association with the department of Artificial intelligence (AI) during 21st -22nd Dec 2022. This conference is completely an online program. Several industry and academic researchers delivered online invited talks through the Zoom platform. The number of participants attended for this event is 285.
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Physics was started from the year 2020 to pursue a Ph.D. degree. The total number of research supervisors is 6 and 10 research scholars are pursuing their Ph.D. degree under their supervision. The department is equipped with Nanomaterials and Crystal Growth Lab, and Material Research Lab.



S.No Name Qualification Designation
1 Prof. M. Mutha Reddy M.Sc., Ph.D. Professor & Dean Examinations
2 Dr. M. Srinivasa Reddy M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Professor & HOD
3 Dr. M. Venkata Ramana M.Sc., Ph.D. Professor & Director IQAC
4 Dr. R. V. Sudheer Kumar M.Sc., Ph.D. Associate Professor
5 Dr. Vijayakumar Yelsani M.Sc., Ph.D. Assistant Professor
6 Dr. Mahesh Rajendran M.Sc., Ph.D. Associate Professor
7 Dr. G. Shwetha M.Sc.,M.Tech,Ph.D Assistant Professor
8 Dr. G. Thirupathi M.Sc., Ph.D. Assistant Professor
9 Mrs. B. Lavanya M.Sc. Assistant Professor
10 Mr. A. Linga Murthy M.Sc. Assistant Professor
11 Mr. M. Madhu M.Sc. Assistant Professor
12 Mr. P. Raghupathi M.Sc. Assistant Professor
13 Mrs. P. Varalakshmi M.Sc. Assistant Professor
14 Mr. S. Upendar M.Sc. Assistant Professor
15 Mr. P. Rajesh M.Sc. Assistant Professor
16 Mrs. Y. Vineela M.Sc. Assistant Professor
17 Mrs. E. Sravani M.Sc. Assistant Professor
18 Mr. M.Sunil kumar M.Sc. Assistant Professor
19 Mr. M. Durga Prasad M.Sc. Assistant Professor
20 Mrs. G. Alekya M.Sc. Assistant Professor

Board of Studies

Dr. M.Srinivasa Reddy

HOD, Assoc. Professor, Chairperson

Prof. M. Mutha Reddy


Prof. K Venugopal Reddy

Professor, Dept, Member

Dr.J. Suryanarayana

Asst. Professor, Member

Dr. Konda Rajini Babu

Process Engineer, Member


Scientist-E, ARCI, Member

Dr R V Sudheer Kumar

Assoc. Professor, Member

Mrs B Lavanya

Asst. Professor, Member

Mr P Raghupathi

Asst. Professor, Member

Mr S Sai Kishore

Alumni, Member

Mr T Rishwi

Alumni, Member

Scroll to Top